Skip to content
Litgrid Tim Meyerjürgens

TenneT COO Tim Meyerjürgens joins the Board of Directors of Lithuanian electricity transmission system operator Litgrid

Reading time
2 Minutes

Last updated


  • Litgrid shareholders elect TenneT COO Tim Meyerjürgens as an independent member of the Board of Directors for the next four years
  • Focus of the role is on technology, digitalisation and business development
  • European infrastructure and cooperation between transmission system operators in Europe crucial for a sustainable and independent energy system of the future

On 30 April 2024, TenneT COO Tim Meyerjürgens has been elected as an independent member of the board of directors at the shareholders' meeting of Litgrid, the national transmission system operator of Lithuania. Meyerjürgens will hold this position in addition to his role at TenneT and will focus on technology and digitalisation solutions as well as managing business development at Litgrid during his four-year term.

Tim Meyerjürgens: “Transmission grids are the backbone of the energy transition. The fast and efficient expansion of the infrastructure is crucial for the transformation of the European economy, and we need good cooperation and collaboration across Europe so that we can tackle the challenges together. Litgrid is at the center of this transformation. With the complete restructuring of the energy system towards renewable energies and the imminent synchronization with continental Europe, major tasks lie ahead, and I am pleased to be able to contribute with my experience from the transmission grids in Germany and the Netherlands.” Commenting on the forthcoming synchronisation of Litgrid with continental Europe, Meyerjürgens adds: "This will make the Eastern European region more stable and resilient to external influences and will take us another step towards a sustainable and independent energy system of the future."

Litgrid's board of directors consists of five members. Three members, continuing their work from the previous term, are Mindaugas Keizeris, Head of EPSO-G, a state-owned group of energy transmission and distribution companies, Tomas Varneckas, Head of Infrastructure and Projects Department of EPSO-G Group, and Gediminas Karalius, Advisor to the Energy Security Group of the Lithuanian Ministry of Energy. In addition to Tim Meyerjürgens, Pierre-Henri D'Haene, Head of Strategy, Transformation and Sustainability at the Belgian electricity transmission system operator Elia, was elected as an independent member of the Board of Directors.


Ina-Isabelle Haffke

Ina-Isabelle Haffke

Spokesperson – Grid expansion Onshore Southern Germany, Energy Policy and Industrial Strategy Southern Germany, Grid Development Plan, Flexibility & Innovations